The long and winding road…

Published October 15, 2010 by Soprano, Megan

I haven’t blogged in what seems like eons and I was missing it to be quite honest.

Nothing in my life has changed. I’m still painfully single after an awkward 7ish months with someone who turned out they only wanted to be friends. Such is life. I am better off. I’m sure someone will come along soon…won’t they??

This blog is essentially going to be about my journey into Grad School. I will be applying to do a Master of Music in Vocal Performance next year. I haven’t decided if I want the pedagogy part yet. We’ll see…I have to get my foot in the door first!

I have been fortunate to find an awesome voice teacher, Maya, who has opened my eyes to things I never would have imagined. I am also going to big lessons with one of the MUN profs next week or the week after. Hopefully she can give some more insight into my singing and make it even better.

Getting in to do my Masters would just be a true dream come true. Never in my wildest dreams would I have told you 10 years ago for music and you would have believed me. It is truly amazing what life can cause us to take on.

Money has been a big issue. Come May I will be a qualified music teacher and will be able to teach where I want basically. Why is that not enough? THis yearning for wanting to better myself is now on my mind 24/7.  I feel there is SO much more for me to learn and to through it down would simply be a shame.

For now I’m going to dare to dream the impossible and I am not stopping until it happens for me. I feel this is right and this is the only right thing in my life right now!

Here is a quote that I try to force myself to say every single day…

“When a dream takes hold of you, what can you do? You can run with it, let it run your life, or let it go and think for the rest of your life about what might have been.”

There are not false words in that statement. There is nothing more heart breaking than wanting something so badly, but not having the courage to actually do it. I don’t want this in my life and I believe I am destined to better thing…only time will tell Im afraid…

Meg

Leave a Reply

